killometer.blogg.se

Create flow with omnifocus 3
Create flow with omnifocus 3












  1. CREATE FLOW WITH OMNIFOCUS 3 HOW TO
  2. CREATE FLOW WITH OMNIFOCUS 3 MAC

It seems daunting when you first look at the Table of Contents because there were subject titles in there that had me scratching my head as to exactly what they were (as I said, I thought I knew a lot about OmniFocus – boy was I wrong!) but the layout has been carefully structured so as to allow anyone who is new to OmniFocus to work their way through and, by the end, will be a master. As well as this, there is a running narrative which describes the theory behind some of the productivity techniques that OmniFocus was designed to help you implement in considerable detail.Īlso, I have to point out that you really can be at ANY skill level to read through this book. He has been able to take OmniFocus and lay out the different configuration elements into their component parts. What Kourosh has been able to do with this publication, however, is nothing short of stunning. It’s just so darned complex! It’s almost a case in point for procrastination itself, in that the fear of getting to know the application is greater than the need to use it. It’s as customisable as you wish it to be which, for some, is where it’s weakness lies. The debate over what forms the best type of context rages long and hard still and I’m certainly not going to approach it here! However OmniFocus leverages contexts with surprising ease as well as giving you the option of being able to display actions in the form of different perspectives. It was designed post-GTD so as to really take advantage of the idea of contexts when it comes to prioritising your actions. OmniFocus is one of the most detailed task management applications you are likely to come across.

create flow with omnifocus 3

I used to consider myself reasonably adept when it came to using OmniFocus, a feature-rich to do list and action management application for OS X and iOS, however that opinion was blown out of the water within a few hours of reading this book.īefore we move on much further with the book’s contents, let’s quickly cover what OmniFocus is.

create flow with omnifocus 3

The second book, is Creating Flow with OmniFocus (Second Edition), by Kourosh Dini. That book saved me and by habitually applying the advice within it, I’ve been able to turn that part of my life around. Not too long ago, I was a disorganised mess, lacking even the most basic skills in the art of prioritisation, information management and daily structure. The first is the world-famous Getting Things Done by David Allen. If you have additional resources I can add here, please leave a comment.To date, there have been two books that I can claim, without hesitation, have had a dramatic effect on the way I organise and live my life. Hopefully these resources will help those interested in OmniFocus to make the jump or provide good reference for current users of the tools. The Omni Group: Mastering Workflow: using OmniFocus for iPad Kourosh Dini: Creating flow with Omnifocus Videos Jonathan Christopher: How I Use OmniFocus to Help Get Things Doneĭavid Sparks: Review - OmniFocus and also Planning to Plan Shawn Blanc: A Sledgehammer Called OmniFocus

CREATE FLOW WITH OMNIFOCUS 3 HOW TO

While I'm still very much an OmniFocus newbie, I wanted to share some resources for others who might be considering OmniFocus or seeking more information about how to work best with OmniFocus.

create flow with omnifocus 3

It's powerful, but I especially appreciate the multiple ways I can view the same tasks: by project, by context, by due date or even in a custom view. It's been less than a week, but already I'm happy I've made the switch to OmniFocus.

CREATE FLOW WITH OMNIFOCUS 3 MAC

Last weekend, I decided to jump in and pick up the Mac and iPhone versions of OmniFocus. I'd been hearing good things about OmniFocus from Kevin Farner, Shawn Blanc, Merlin Mann and others I follow. I'd been using Things on the Mac, iPhone and iPad, but for various reasons, wasn't satisfied with how it was working for me. OMNIFOCUS has been on my mind lately, as I've been looking for a better way to keep myself on track with the complex load of projects in my life.














Create flow with omnifocus 3